swb

“Ref. Desk. How can I help you?”

“Can you look up something for me on Wikipedia? The end of the world? When will that be?”

“You mean like The Final Days? I thought it was supposed to be 2012.”

“2012. Right. But that didn’t happen, so I’m sitting here wondering when the next best guess is. Could it be 2017?”

He sounded almost hopeful, like: Bring it on! Let’s get it over with.

“Jeez! I know things are bad,” I said, “but I don’t think it’s the end of the world.”

“Somebody told me 2030. Have you heard that anywhere? What’s it say on Wikipedia?”

“Well, I’m finding lots of Biblical References under End of Days, End Time. It says:

“A future time period of the eschatologies of several world religions. But it’s not giving a specific date.”

“Huh. Well, this trucker guy I know said it’s 2030. I’m an old trucker, and you know, a trucker never lies. ‘Cept to other truckers. Then we lie all the time. Haw! But I don’t drive anymore. I retired, but I still got my trucks. A 1974 Kenworth and a 1967 Peterbilt.”

“Wow. How many miles on that Kenworth?”

“Two-point-five-million miles.”

“That’s amazing.”

“That’s nothin’. I got three million miles on the Peterbilt.”

“Wow, they don’t make ’em like that anymore.”

“That’s for damn sure. I blame Reagan, that sonovabitch!”

“Well, I’m not finding anything about Final Days for 2030, but here’s one that says 2525.”

“2525? Really? What’s it say?”

“In the year 2525, if man is still alive, if woman can survive, they may find…in the year 3535, ain’t gonna need to tell the truth, tell no lie.”

“Ain’t that the truth. You can’t believe anything you hear these days, especially what’s on the internet.”

“Look, um, we have to get back to this Reference thing we’re working on? Anything else I can look up for you?”

“Oh, sorry! That’s fine, you’ve been very helpful. Have a great day.”

